SMACKED INTO AN AWESOME SEASON IN LIFE: “SINGLENESS” …BY: Dawne Shaw

21 Jan

Worth The Wait

I AM WORTH THE WAIT!

Who can find a virtuous woman? For her price is far above rubies. Proverbs 31:10

By grace I gave my life to the Lord Jesus Christ at the age of fifteen. It was the start of me being the only one in a household of 6 to live for God in Christ. Entering into my first season confessing Jesus as savior, I was fully convinced that whatever it took (so I thought at that time) I was going to keep my passion for Christ flowing. During that season I received a new set of values on the whole “boyfriend and girlfriend” thing, which for me was very mind blowing at the time. After being raised in an environment who believes that once you approach the age of eighteen it is ok to be fully committed to the opposite sex without being married, I received a new insight that your husband is hand chosen by God just for you, which means that no other companionship under the sun would truly be successful outside of that chosen person. I’m sure you can now see how this new light was very “Mind blowing”.

Out of my determination to keep the passion flowing for Christ I became an active member in my church, with youth bible study being the highlight of my participation. It was in that small group setting of young people, with a very down to earth bible study teacher, that God pushed the idea of my hand picked husband finding me as opposed to being in a fully committed relationship a MUST. He did this in order to keep my passion flowing for him. I learned that being single until marriage is a good thing.  It is a time in life that should be used to get to know yourself as well as build your relationship with Christ. Being fully committed in a relationship outside of marriage can be a huge distraction, because once you involve yourself it is only going to grow like bad weeds in a garden. Just like flowers grow when planted right, weeds grow when the foundation is not right. Relationships not ordained by God will grow damaging your emotions and in your time, which is very dangerous.  Eventually you will end up placing more value on the companionship than on your relationship with Christ. Why risk Christ your relationship with Christ by doing things that you are worth waiting for?

A few “weeds” I learned that needed to be plucked to keep focused:

1) Talking on the phone all night/ texting all day

2) Thinking about the relationship so much that I didn’t think of God

3) Spending a lot of time hanging (which leads to other things)

4) Kissing/rubbing

5) Sexual intercourse being the most extreme

While she explained how God created committed companionships for marriage, she elaborated on the fact that relationships are meant to grow, and then posed a personal question, which required a silent answer to yourself “What will you do with all of those emotions while trying to please God?”

However, after knowing the truth (which many people today do) a few years later I enter into a relationship. I found out that it is morally impossible to please God in a relationship that is not ordained towards marriage by God. I found myself in a place of bondage while God felt so distant. I had lost all of my passion for God because I gave into the LIE that society wants people to believe. The lie that says, “It is ok to be in a committed relationship that is not ordained by God for marriage”. I wanted nothing more than to have my passion back. After two years I made a vow to God that if he helped me to get out of the relationship and restore my passion, I would do his will and treasure my self worth. It was in that moment that God smacked me into an awesome season in life, “singleness “.

I am now ecstatic to say that God has given me a double portion of that passion back. I am determined to take the route that God requires his children to take (waiting for Marriage). I am now constantly building my relationship with Christ, getting to know myself, and pursuing purpose. I totally trust that God will bring my husband to me in the season that he feels I am ready.

I Am Worth The Wait,

Dawne

Leave a comment